There is evil inside everyone...you can either learn from it, or it can take you. Pray that it doesn't take you.


Picture
courtesy of PhotoBucket

"Maggot's Resolution"




Do you hear that sound?
It is the sound of your life slipping through my hands

My cold dark damp hands
The hands that love you to death

The one’s that scream for the gnashing of your flesh
The eye bleeds the ink of your life on your flesh parchment

A sinewy ligament the quill for your torture
Write if you dare untold truths within your pain
Tell lies to the widows the insane

Make a pact with the level of your madness
So you may follow through with this gored affair

Maggots’ resolution to be more efficient the next arrivals
Eat before it spoils if you dare

Rot the sweet root taste of decay drips from your lips
Your flavor of the day
Cacophony

Food for the livid macabre living in deaths row garden
Blessed are the dead because they have rotted away

Waiting waiting on the sunflowers of disease
Embalmed is the fertilizer in longevities garden
Life lives but death is ever ardent

Bitterroot blood vein that protrudes from your temples
Make of the Beast so tragically simple

Sentinels of grave custodies darkened ways of the blood buoyant
Watch
Keeping the bones cold chilled for the pyre


©2009 H. A. Irwin, Jr.
Mea twosocks
3/30/2011 11:31:31 am

Waho--this IS a darky side! I am going to have to re-read this. Hank, you are ever so right...we All do have evil in us. long before we even take our first free from the umbilical cord breath. We also have Gods Spirit within. You are right on the dot also when you say we can either "learn from our evil-or it can take you. And that road in truth,is easier isn't it?!. I have a strong dark side-but I will fight till the end. (This was awesome Hank!)

Reply
Debbie
3/30/2011 12:41:14 pm

really like this, kind of scary :))

Reply
Sharonlee
3/30/2011 03:49:54 pm

Whew.... chilling and probing... most certainly deserves a second read.....
sharonlee

Reply
Fiona
3/30/2011 04:28:34 pm

Oh dear!! What a read with my first cup of coffee ha ha. Good writing though :) I need to go away for a few days just to recover ha ha. Actually I was going anyway. See you Monday. I just read it again. Even better :) x

Reply
Eliza
3/30/2011 07:24:17 pm

Hank, I am horrified beyond belief. I think you were going for that. This is one hell of a poem!

Reply
Hank
3/30/2011 08:52:59 pm

I fight everyday Mea...for that road of truth. I love the word awesome btw :)
~
TY Deb...you brought your flashlight right? ;) thank you babe
~
Haha Sharonlee...glad you could stop by hun :)
~
Yeah Fi, I noticed you said you were dipping for the weekend...have fun hun! I will be taking a leave of absence here very soon myself. Got tons of stuff to get caught up on.Thankx for coming by too :)
~
Eliza, imagine what the end will be like...hell, the real deal. Thankx for coming by hun...always a pleasure.

Reply
3/30/2011 09:22:03 pm

Every word of this is perfect. Every image drags the primal buttons onto the onto free game at the kindergarten. Love the site and can't wait to let you shake me up again. Thank you.

Reply
jason hill
3/30/2011 09:58:31 pm

Darkness, being the most evenly distributed feeling amongst most people, cacophony is the only sound that makes sense in a world so cold, so evil. The taste of sweet roots rotting, dripping from open lips,glazed over eyes reveal open wounds from childhood. Daring to eat of spoiling maggots, love is slipping away, take hold before it is gone forever. One starves for love , as another denies the emotion. How can one live like this? Some people just aren't cut out for love, as it has been ripped from their world, at such an impressionable age. All they know is hatred, pure American hatred. Please keep your work circulating, as to try and remind those, ( like ME ) , that love is real, and needs to be sustained . It is all around us. We need only to accept it . I love you brother, thank you for being you...

Reply
jason hill
3/30/2011 10:05:46 pm

Hope I didn't get to side tracked on this one Hank, damn good writing. Don't know where I was going with all that love stuff, guess that's what I was feeling. BTW that song is awesome, gonna have to post that one later...ttyl8r

Reply
Madness Deepens
3/30/2011 11:33:20 pm

WOW the dark side....

This is vivid and pouring with images. How does one even get to this place? Does death really comfort the pain. The rotting flesh of a carcass, slipping through the fingers that love you to DEATH... wholly shyat !!!

Damn man, thanks for letting me know you had this up. I do enjoy the dark writes my friend...

Massive... this is Massive !!!
love and hugs to you always <3

Reply
sandra
3/30/2011 11:59:44 pm

wow, this is creepy.

Reply
Rose Morales
3/31/2011 01:07:28 am

Wow. Dark as all Hell. Maggots. EEW. Great creepy goodness.

Reply
Hank
3/31/2011 02:31:53 am

Jason my brother...you floor me man. The feeling is mutual brother. Women won't understand, and most men think they can do it all alone. But the love/bond between brothers is greater than the love of any woman on the planet, or the universe for that matter. Agape, is the love I speak of, the greatest love the world has ever known. It is not selfish, nor does it boast. It comforts. You read much into this write my friend. Thank you for reading between the lines. Sometimes we find ourselves at the pit, but there is a way out...always. This is quite the treat for me brother. Leaves me sorta flabbergasted. You rock & roll my friend.
~
Awe Beth, thank you hun. Yeah, this piece even creeps me out, and I wrote the damned thing haha!
~
Sandra...thanks for not calling me a creep...heh, and thank you very much for coming by hun. :)
~
Hahaha Rose...thanks for stopping by sweety. Maggots are kinda creepy eh? lmao :)

Reply
Hank
3/31/2011 02:36:30 am

Awe shoot...I'm sorry "MoonCookee" haha, love that name. Thank you so much for your candor. Love your comment btw. I hope I don't shake you too much. But a good shaking can help at times eh? peace

Reply
3/31/2011 04:00:50 am

Does this go through?

Reply
Hank
3/31/2011 04:05:11 am

Yes mam, it sho do :)

Reply
Valerie Cranfill
4/1/2011 02:27:32 am

You had me from the first line, which is why I enjoy questions within a poem or song? It immediately makes it personal, as if we're having a conversation and you're trying to get me to listen. Loved this write. Powerful, dark...effective.

Reply
Hank
4/1/2011 03:11:37 am

Thank you Valerie,very much sweetheart. As writers we seek to provoke or render out reader. Makes for some interesting dialog at least. People wander around with blinders most times. I hope it woke a few up. Ha! Thank you soooo much for coming by and taking the time to read...it is very comforting. <3

Reply
4/2/2011 12:33:48 pm

Hank a very dark approach! I really dug reading this to the video you chose as well.
The following line stood out to me

Write if you dare untold truths within your pain
Tell lies to the widows the insane

I like encouraging diving deep into the truth of the heart and emotion when writing! The if you dare really cinches it! Excellent Hank!

Reply
Hank
4/2/2011 10:41:26 pm

Why thank you Briana. I love that you love it. You might call this an "insight write" I guess, even though it does fall in the "tragedy" category. Thank you for coming by sweetheart. Means the world to me. <3

Reply
Jill
4/3/2011 07:36:36 am

this is quite good

Reply
Hank
4/3/2011 10:23:23 pm

Thank you Jill...glad you could find the time to come by hun. peace

Reply
1/24/2012 09:45:30 pm

good post

Reply
1/25/2012 12:38:47 pm

nice post

Reply

is shortly

Reply
1/27/2012 08:00:57 pm

will come back shortly

Reply
3/21/2012 02:46:51 pm

is shortly

Reply
3/26/2012 10:27:34 am

Good article dude

Reply
3/31/2012 06:15:58 pm

THX for info

Reply
7/11/2012 05:08:41 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply



Leave a Reply.